News | Wed, Sep 29, 2021

Reopening of the Towada Art Center

The Towada Art Center has reopened as of October 1, 2021, after its closure in September to help prevent the spread of COVID-19. We apologize for any inconvenience caused to those who planned to visit the museum while we were closed in September, and we would like to let our visitors know that we are committed to ensuring measures to prevent infection. We look forward to welcoming you back.


Other News


Wed, Apr 6, 2022

Towada Art Center Reopening Thursday, April 12, 2022

The Towada Art Center will reopen as of Tuesday, April 12, following a temporary closure from Saturday, January 22, to Sunday, April 11, to prevent the spread of COVID-19.

Date of Reopening
Tuesday, April 12, 2022

Our reopening will coincide with the opening of Arts Towada 10th Anniversary Exhibition: Inter+Play Season 3, originally scheduled for January 22.

Arts Towada 10th Anniversary Exhibition: Inter+Play Season 3
Tuesday, April 12, 2022 – Sunday, May 29, 2022

Changes to previously scheduled events are as follows.

– Behaviour Problem Trio performances have been rescheduled for Saturday, May 14, and Sunday, May 15.

We apologize for any inconvenience caused to those who planned to visit the Towada Art Center during the temporary closure period.
The Towada Art Center remains committed to ensuring measures to prevent the spread of COVID-19.
We appreciate your understanding and look forward to welcoming you back soon.



Tue, Aug 31, 2021

Temporary Closure of the Towada Art Center (September 1–30, 2021)

The Towada Art Center will remain closed for the following period to help prevent the spread of the novel coronavirus disease (COVID-19).

Dates Closed
Wednesday, September 1 – Thursday, September 30, 2021

The opening date for Arts Towada 10th Anniversary Exhibition: Inter+Play Season 2 has been moved to Friday, October 1, 2021.

Changes to the events scheduled for September are as follows.

– Curator Gallery Talk scheduled for Friday, September 10: Cancelled
– Performances by Behaviour Problem Trio scheduled for Saturday, September 25 and Sunday, September 26: Postponed

New dates for postponed events will be announced at a later date as we closely monitor the situation and comply with measures taken by Towada City and Aomori Prefecture.

Please note that this temporary closure may be extended as the situation continues to develop.
An update regarding the reopening of the Towada Art Center will be posted here on our website on Friday, October 1, 2021.

On behalf of the Towada Art Center, we appreciate your understanding and cooperation.





Sun, Apr 25, 2021

Parking Lot Limited to 4 Spots (Normally 10)

Due to construction, the parking lot located directly behind the Towada Art Center will be limited to 4 spots (including 1 disabled parking spot) beginning Monday, April 26, 2021.




See all news posts